Rediff Logo
 Home > Sports > Hockey > Report
 July 23, 2002 | 1930 IST

 -  News
 -  Interview
 -  Specials
 -  Columns
 -  Slide Show
 -  Archives
 -  Search Rediff

 Bathroom singing
 goes techno!

 Your Lipstick

 Make money
 while you sleep.

 Secrets every
 mother should

Hockey Coverage
 Search the Internet
 Cricket, Hockey, Tennis

E-Mail this report to a friend
Print this page Best Printed on  HP Laserjets

33 shortlisted for
Champions Trophy hockey

Ace forward Dhanraj Pillay, defender Dilip Tirkey, half back Bimal Lakra and goalkeeper Devesh Chauhan are among 33 probables shortlisted by the Indian Hockey Federation for a coaching camp in preparation for a four-nation tournament and the Champions Trophy.

Sydney Olympians Baljit Singh Saini, Baljit Singh Dhillon and Sameer Dad do not figure in the list.

The four-nation tournament is to be played in Amstelveen, Holland, from August 22 to 25 while the Champions Trophy will be held in Cologne, Germany, from August 31 to September 8.

The probables include five goalkeepers, six defenders, nine half backs and 13 forwards.

The camp will be held at the SAI Centre, Bangalore, from July 29.

The probables:

Goalkepers: Devesh Chauhan (Indian Oil), Bharat Chettri (Karnataka), Kamaldeep Singh (ONGC), Shammuga Sundaram (Tami Nadu), Jagdish Ponnappa (Indian Airlines).

Defenders: Dilip Tirkey, Len Ayappa, Lazarus Barla (Indian Airlines), Jugraj Singh, Kanwalpreet Singh (Punjab Police), Dinesh Nayak (Tamil Nadu).

Half backs: S S.Gill (Chandigarh), Vikram Pillay (Air India), Ignace Tirkey (Services), Prabodh Tirkey, Bimal Lakra, V.S.Vinay (Indian Airlines), Thirumalvalavan (Tamil Nadu), Viren Rasquinha (Indian Oil), Sandeep Michael (Karnataka).

Forwards: Gagan Ajit Singh, Daljit Singh, Tejbir Singh (Punjab Police), Prabhjot Singh, Deepak Thakur, Rajpal Singh (Indian Oil), Dhanraj Pillay, Varinder Kumar (Indian Airlines), Arjun Halappa, Anup Anthony (Karnataka), Tushar Khandekar (Air India), Amarjit Pratap (ONGC) and Cyprian Aind (Services).

Chief coach: Rajinder Singh; Asst. coach: N.S. Sodhi.

Physical trainer: Sampath Kumar.