Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » News » The rise & fall of Pervez Musharraf

The rise & fall of Pervez Musharraf

Source: PTI
August 18, 2008 16:01 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The dates below indicate how Pervez Musharraf's nine-year reign as army chief and Pakistani President unfolded:

  • October 7, 1998: Pervez Musharraf appointed as army chief by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, superseding several senior officers.
  • May 1999: Kargil intrusion takes place. Sharif later orders Musharraf to withdraw Pakistani troops under US pressure.
  • October 12, 1999: Musharraf overthrows his mentor Sharif in a bloodless coup.
  • May 13, 2000: Supreme Court validates coup.
  • June 20, 2001: Musharraf appoints himself President, stays as army chief.
  • April 30, 2002: Musharraf wins controversial national referendum to continue as President for a five-year term.
  • December 14 and 25: Musharraf survives two assassination attempts plotted by Al-Qaeda.
  • January 2004: Musharraf and then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee agree to a peace dialogue.
  • December 30, 2004: Musharraf goes back on his pledge to step down as army chief. He secures support of Parliament to stay on in the powerful post till 2007.
  • October 6, 2007: Parliament elects Musharraf as President for a fresh five-year term.
  • October 18, 2007: Former Pakistan premier and Pakistan People's Party leader Benazir Bhutto returns from exile.
  • November 3, 2007: Musharraf imposes state of emergency and suspends Constitution. Judges of the Supreme Court, who were set to rule on the legality of his election, are sacked.
  • November 25, 2007: Sharif returns from exile.
  • November 28, 2007: Under domestic and international pressure, Musharraf doffs uniform, becomes a civilian President.
  • December 15, 2007: State of emergency lifted.
  • December 27, 2007: Benazir Bhutto assassinated during an election rally.
  • February 18, 2008: Landmark general elections bring Musharraf opponents Pakistan People's Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz to power.
  • August 7, 2008: Ruling coalition leaders announce plans to seek Musharraf's impeachment in Parliament.
  • August 18, 2008: Musharraf announces resignation.
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.