Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » News » HP ex-CM Dhumal wins Hamirpur LS bypoll

HP ex-CM Dhumal wins Hamirpur LS bypoll

Source: PTI
June 05, 2007 17:28 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Former Himachal Pradesh chief minister and Bharatiya Janata Party leader Prem Kumar Dhumal on Tuesday won Hamirpur Lok Sabha by-election defeating Congress candidate Ram Lal Thakur by over 80,000 votes.

The victory has dealt a blow to Congress party ahead of the state Assembly elections due in February next year.

While Dhumal polled 3,82,128 votes, his nearest Congress rival and state Forest Minister Ram Lal Thakur got 3,02,069 votes, Hamirpur Deputy Commissioner and Returning Officer Rajneesh Kumar told reporters in Hamirpur.

The four independents, who were also in the fray, lost their deposits, Kumar added.

By-election to Hamirpur parliamentary constituency was necessitated due to expulsion of BJP MP Suresh Chandel in "cash-for-question" scam.

Dhumal, who served as chief minister of the hill state from 1998 to 2003 is currently BJP's leader in the Legislative Assembly.

He had earlier won Lok Sabha elections from Hamirpur seat twice and lost as many times.

With Tuesday's defeat in the elections, Ram Lal Thakur has lost thrice from the constituency carved out of four districts of Hamirpur, Bilaspur, Una and Kangra.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.