Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Business » 55 new trains to be introduced

55 new trains to be introduced

Source: PTI
Last updated on: February 24, 2006 14:15 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Union Railway Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav announced 55 new trains in the Rail Budget 2006-07 for different destinations across the country.

The new trains included 27 weekly, five bi-weekly, five tri-weekly and 14 daily.

The weekly trains are:

  • Valsad-Udhna (Surat)-Chhapra-Sonpur Shramik Express,
  • Ahmedabad-Patna-Azimabad Express,
  • Muzaffarpur-Kolkata (Chitpur) Tirhut Express,
  • Kishanganj Garib Nawaj Express,
  • Yeshwantpur Garib Nawaj Express,
  • Ranch Garib Nawaj Express,
  • Sonpur-Chhapra-Jammu Twai Mour Dhwaj Express,
  • Delhi-Patna Garib Rath (AC),
  • Delhi-Mumbai Garib Rath (AC)
  • Delhi-Chennai Garib Rath (AC),
  • Bangalore-Darbhanga Express Via Chennai, Patna,
  • Delhi (New Azadpur)-Saharsa Poorbiya Express via LKO,
  • Valsad-Udhna (Surat)-Kanpur Udyogkarmi Express,
  • Durg-Gorakhpur Express via Faizabad,
  • Chennai-Tiruvananthapuram Express,
  • Chennai-Egmore-Nagercoil Express,
  • Chennai-Coimbatore Express,
  • Bhubaneswar-Pondichery Express,
  • Howrah-Mumbai Express.

Other weekly trains are

  • Tatanagar-Yeshwantpur Express,
  • Chennai-Bilaspur Express,
  • Pune-Lucknow¬†Express,
  • Jabalpur-Jammu Tawi Express,
  • Purna-Nanded-Patna Express (after Gauge conversion),
  • Purna-Adilabad Passenger (after gauge conversion).

The bi-weekly trains are:

  • Darbhanga-Kolkata (Chitpur) Mithilanchal Express,
  • Saharsa-Amritsar Garib Rath (AC) via Barauni, Hajipur,
  • Sonpur, Chhapra and Gorakhpur,
  • Rae-Barely-Pratapgarh-Lokmanya Tilak (T) Link Express,
  • Visakhapatnam-Nizamabad Express, and
  • Jaipur-Amritsar Express.

The tri-weekly trains are:

  • Bhubaneshwar-Baripada Express,
  • Delhi-Rae Bareli Express,
  • Chennai-Mangalore Express,
  • Bhuj-Bareilly Express, and
  • Machilipatanam-Tirupati Fast Passenger.

The new daily trains announced in the budget are:

  • Saharsa-Patna Kosi Express
  • Link Express between Darbhanga and Guwahati with 5609/5610 Avadh-Assam Express,
  • Chennai-Tiruvanthapuram Express,
  • Nagpur-Raipur Intercity Express,
  • Indore-Bhopal Intercity Express,
  • Radhikapur-Sealdah Link Express with 3453/3454 Gour Express,
  • Mathura-Alwar Passenger,
  • Gudur-Tirupati Passenger,
  • Hajipur-Sonpur-Chhapra-Siwan-Thawe Passenger,
  • Mailani-Palia Kalan Passenger (MG),
  • Jallandhar City-Nakodar DMU,
  • Nanded-Adilabad Passenger (after gauge conversion),
  • Madurai-Rameshwaram Passenger (after gauge conversion),
  • Kumarhat-Agartala (after commissioning of new metre gauge line).

Other new trains introduced included Asansol-Bokaro, Bankura-Ranchi passenger via Purulia and Ajmer-Udaipur City Express (after gauge converesion).

The Railway Minister also announced extension of 37 trains, besides increasing frequency of 12 trains.

The Railway Budget 2006-07

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Moneywiz Live!