Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Pondicherry: Congress retains power

Pondicherry: Congress retains power

Source: PTI
Last updated on: May 11, 2006 14:25 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Congress-led Democratic Progressive Alliance retained power in the Pondicherry, winning 17 of the 25 seats declared by 1300 hrs.

With the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam combine winning nine seats till 1300 hrs, even if they emerge victorious in all five remaining seats, they cannot overtake the DPA tally.

There are 30 seats in the territorial Assembly in the enclaves of Pondicherry, Karaikal, Yanam and Mahe.

So far, the Congress had won eight seats, followed by its ally the DMK with six seats. The Paatali Makkal Katchi had secured three seats.

The rival AIADMK-led Democratic People's Alliance managed to secure only three seats. The Puducherry Munnetra Congress of former Congressman P Kannan, has won three seats, but Mr Kannan lost election.

Two seats went to independents.

The MDMK, an AIADMK ally, has made its presence felt in the Union Territory for the first time by winning one seat.

Complete coverage: Pondicherry

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.