Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Six Independents say no truck with Lalu

Six Independents say no truck with Lalu

Source: PTI
March 04, 2005 14:25 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Throwing a spanner in the Lalu Prasad Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal's efforts to reach the magic figure of 122 to form the government in Bihar, at least six out of the 17 Independent MLAs have decided not to extend support to the RJD.

The decision was taken at a meeting late last night.

Independent MLA from Ghosi, Jagdish Sharma, in whose chamber in the assembly the six Independent MLAs met for the first time, said: "We have decided not to extend support to the RJD alliance in forming government."

Rebel RJD leader Vijendra Chaudhary, who won the Muzaffarpur assembly seat as an Independent defeating party nominee Amar Pandey, said: "Since we have won the election on an anti-RJD plank, we cannot ditch the voters by supporting RJD. We have decided not to support RJD at any cost."

Besides Sharma and Chaudhary, Ram Deo Rai, Hari Bhusan Thakur, Narendra Singh and Kishore Kumar Munna participated in the meeting.

Sharma and Chaudhary claimed that at least five more Independents -- Roop Narain Jha, Murli Dhar Mandal, Lal Babu Rai, Jagmato Devi and Surendra Yadav -- are in touch with them.

Asserting that the Independents do not favour President's rule in Bihar, Sharma said: "We will actively think about extending support if any government is formed either under LJP or JD-U's initiative."

Earlier Reports:
Paswan meets governor, sings the same tune
Lalu meets Sonia


Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.