Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » SP bags 8 out of 11 seats in UP, Cong nil

SP bags 8 out of 11 seats in UP, Cong nil

Source: PTI
Last updated on: October 16, 2004 18:20 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The ruling Samajwadi Party-Rashtriya Loktantrik Dal coalition on Saturday posted an impressive victory in Uttar Pradesh by-elections, winning eight of the eleven seats.

Also Read

Congress doing well in by-polls

Its arch-rival, Bahujan Samajwadi Party, bagged two seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party won one. The Congress failed to retain its two seats.

The SP wrested Siddhaur and Saidpur seats from the BSP and Ghaziabad and Mujhena seats from the Congress and BJP respectively, while its coalition partner, the RLD retained its Baghra seat.

The SP nominee Ram Magan won the Siddhaur seat defeating Dharmi Devi of the BSP by over 14,000 votes. Rajnath Yadav of the SP defeated Mahendranath Pandey of the BJP in Saidpur seat by over 18,000 votes.

The Ghaziabad seat was won by Surendra Munni of the SP by a margin of over 11,000 votes, defeating his nearest rival Santosh Tyagi of the Congress.          

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.