Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » DPA heading for clean sweep

DPA heading for clean sweep

Source: PTI
May 13, 2004 16:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagham-led Democratic Progressive Alliance nominees bagged all 14 Lok Sabha seats for which results were declared by 1400 hours Thursday.

The DMK won six seats, Congress three, Pattali Makkal Katchi two, and the Marumalarchi DMK, CPI-M and CPI one each.

While former TNCC President EVKS Elangovan humbled AIADMK nominee N R Govindarajar by a huge margin of over 2.14 lakh votes at Gobichettipalayam, former Union Minister P Chidambaram (Congress) romped home at Sivaganga by a comfortable majority of 1.62 lakh votes.

TTV Dinakaran (AIADMK), nephew of Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa's close associate Sasikala, was trounced by J M Haroon (INC) by over 25,000 votes at Periykulam.

Former Union Minister A Raja of the DMK retained his Perambalur seat by a margin of over 1.53 lakh votes, while another former minister, A K Moorthy (PMK), held on to the Chengalpattu seat by a margin of over 1.48 lakh seats.

In the other 25 seats, DPA nominees had established unassailable leads.

Senior DMK leaders T R Baalu (Chennai South), Dayanidhi Maran (Chennai Central) and S Kuppusamy (Chennai North) were among the DPA candidates with comfortable leads as counting continued.



Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.