Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Congress sweeps through Haryana

Congress sweeps through Haryana

Source: PTI
May 13, 2004 23:47 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Except for Sonipat retained by the BJP, the opposition Congress swept through Haryana winning the remaining nine seats -- annexing all the five won by ruling INLD in 1999 and four from the BJP.

Chief Minister Om Parkash Chautala's two sons -- Ajay, seeking re-election from Bhiwani, and Abhay, an MLA in the state assembly, fielded from Kurukshetra as also Surender Singh, a son of former Chief Minister Bansi Lal (Bhiwani) and Union minister I D Swami (Karnal) were the main losers.

Congress gained four seats of Mahendragarh, Karnal, Faridabad and Ambala from the BJP and five seats of Rohtak, Kurukshetra, Bhiwani, Hissar and Sirsa from Chautala-led INLD.

Selja won from Ambala with the highest margin of 2,34,394 votes over her nearest rival Rattan Lal Kataria (BJP) while his party colleague Kishen Singh Sangwan retained the Sonipat seat with the lowest margin -- 7522 -- beating former Haryana Congress chief Dharampal Singh Malik.

Krishna Malik (INLD), wife of Haryana DGP M S Malik, who was went on leave following Election Commission's directions for his removal before the election, finished third.

Two ministers in Chautala ministry -- Ashok Arora and Mohd Ilyas -- suffered defeat from Karnal and Faridabad Lok Sabha constituencies at the hands of two Congress nominees Arvind Sharma and Avtar Singh Bhadana by a margin of 9,773 and 1,25,141 votes respectively.

Arora was third finishing behind Swami, who was second at Karnal.

Haryana Congress chief Bhajan Lal's younger son Kuldeep annexed the Bhiwani Lok Sabha seat beating Surender Singh (HVP) by a margin of 25,293 votes, Ajay Chautala, who was seeking re-election finished third.

Industrialist Navin Jindal won the Kurukshetra seat beating the second son of Chautala, Abhay, who is a member of state assembly, by a margin of 1,60,238 votes.

Leader of the opposition in Haryana assembly Bhupinder Singh Hooda (Congress) won from Rohtak beating his nearest rival Abhimanyu (BJP) by 1,50,487 votes. INLD's Bhim Singh Suhag finished third.

Another Congress MLA Rao Inderjit Singh was declared elected from Mahendrgarh by a margin of 1,53,694 votes over Sudha Yadav (BJP), who was seeking re-election. INLD's Swami Dharam Dev Shastri finished third.

Two members of the ruling INLD Surender Singh Barwala and Sushil Kumar Indora, seeking re-election were defeated by former Union Deputy Minister Jai Parkash and former MLA Atma Singh Gill by margins of 1,82,506 and 71,483 votes respectively.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.