Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Amazing facts about Election 2004

Amazing facts about Election 2004

By G K Gokhale
Last updated on: May 14, 2004 12:07 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Both the Lok Sabha Speaker and Deputy Speaker lost the election. The first time it has happened. Manohar Joshi was defeated in Mumbai North Central, while P M Sayeed lost the election from Lakshadweep.

P M Sayeed's defeat was his first since he contested the Lok Sabha election for the first time from Lakshadweep since 1967. He had never lost a Lok Sabha election before.

Sharad Pawar won the Baramati seat by 422,798 votes. From what we can make out, it is the biggest margin of victory this election. For the records, this is what the final result in Baramati looked like:

Constituency: Baramati.

Electorate: 18,44,258

Votes polled: 8,92,726

Contestants: 4.

1. Sharad Pawar NCP 634,176

2. Prithviraj Jachak BJP 211,378

3. Pralhad Vishwakarma IND 16,955

4. Balasaheb Kolekar IND 30,217

The smallest margin this election? Likely to be the 71 votes that P M Sayeed lost by in Lakshadweep. Minister of State for Home Chinmayanand lost Jaunpur in Uttar Pradesh by 113 votes.

Dr Murli Manohar Joshi lost an election in Allahabad for the first time since 1991.

Another wellknown BJP casualty -- Shanta Kumar, the former Union minister and ex-chief minister of Himachal Pradesh, who lost the Kangra seat by 17,791 votes. He had won Kangra in 1989, 1998 and 1999.

Two brothers-in-law were elected to the Lok Sabha from two different parties and states -- Omar Abdullah for the National Conference in Srinagar and his sister Sara's husband, Sachin Pilot for the Congress from Dausa in Rajasthan.

Stay posted. We will have more shortly!

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
G K Gokhale