Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Save one seat, Delhi favours Congress

Save one seat, Delhi favours Congress

Source: PTI
May 13, 2004 18:18 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

In a sweet revenge for the 1999 whitewash, the Congress party on Thursday wiped out the Bharatiya Janata Party winning six of the seven Lok Sabha seats in the national capital unseating three Union ministers.

The victory of Congress party created a history of sorts as no party had managed to win the state assembly, the municipal corporation and the Lok Sabha seats within a gap of two years.

None of the Congress candidates won in the last parliamentary elections.

The saving grace for BJP was South Delhi, where its candidate V K Malhotra managed to retain his constituency by defeating noted lawyer and Congress candidate R K Anand by nearly 16,000 votes.

While Malhotra polled 240,000 votes, Anand could only manage 224,000 votes.

New Delhi, Sadar and Outer Delhi constituencies saw the major upsets for the BJP when its party candidates, who were part of the Union government, lost to Congress candidates.

Vijay Goel, former Minister of State in Prime Ministers' Office, was humbled by Jagdish Tytler by a margin of 16,000 votes in Sadar constituency.

Tytler got 1,40,073 votes while his rival could get only 1,24,097 votes.

BJP's star candidate and former labour minister Sahib Singh Verma was made to bite dust in the Outer Delhi seat by Congress candidate Sajjan Kumar who won by over 170,000 votes.

Former Union urban development minister Jagmohan was defeated by Delhi Assembly speaker and Congress candidate Ajay Maken by nearly 10,000 votes in New Delhi Lok Sabha seat.

Maken polled 101,000 votes while Jagmohan managed just a little over 91,000 votes.

Congress candidate from Karol Bagh constituency Krishna Tirath trounced BJP rival Anita Arya by over 38,000 votes.

Tirath garnered 1,38,596 votes while Arya got 1,00,967 votes.

In East Delhi, son of Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, Sandeep Dikshit, registered a thumping victory by defeating the BJP's sitting MP Lal Bihari Tiwari by nearly 180,000 votes.

Noted lawyer and Congress candidate Kapil Sibal romped home confortably defeating TV star and BJP candidate Smriti Irani by over 80,000 votes.

Sibal got 127,000 votes while Irani could only manage nearly 48,000 votes.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.