Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Congress leads in four of seven in Delhi

Congress leads in four of seven in Delhi

By New Delhi
Last updated on: May 13, 2004 11:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Congress is leading in four out of seven Lok Sabha constituencies of Delhi with BJP ahead in the rest.

Delhi Assembly Speaker and Congress nominee Ajay Maken was trailing in New Delhi constituency to Union Tourism Minister Jagmohan by over 2800 votes.

Sandeep Dikshit, son of Congress Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, was leading BJP's member of dissolved Lok Sabha Lal Bihari Tiwari in East Delhi constituency.

Noted lawyer and Congress candidate Kapil Sibal was also ahead of small screen star Smriti Irani, the BJP nominee, in Chandni Chowk constituency by about 7,000 votes, while Jagdish Tytler of Congress was ahead of Union Minister Vijay Goel in Delhi Sadar constituency by 7,000 votes.

Union Labour Minister and BJP candidate Sahib Singh Verma was ahead of the Congress's Sajjan Kumar in Outer Delhi. The Congress's Krishna Tirath was leading the BJP nominee and member of dissolved Lok Sabha Anita Arya in Karol Bagh constituency by 6,000 votes.

BJP's stalwart V K Malhotra was ahead of noted lawyer and Congress nominee R K Anand in South Delhi constituency by a significant 13,000 votes.

BJP had bagged all seven seats in the last 1999 Lok Sabha elections.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
New Delhi
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.