Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Reddy chosen Andhra CLP leader

Reddy chosen Andhra CLP leader

By Election Bureau
Last updated on: May 12, 2004 15:09 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Congress leader Dr Y S Rajasekhar Reddy will be Andhra Pradesh's new chief minister.

Reddy, who steered the party to a landslide victory, was unanimously elected Congress legislature party leader at a meeting of the new legislators in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

Also Read

Special: Reddy for Power

Will NDA lose AP?

In Cuddapah, YSR is king

His name was proposed by PCC president D Srinivas, who was also said to have been one of the contenders, and seconded by senior leader K Ranga Rao. All the MLAs seconded his candidature by a voice vote

Midway through the two-hour meeting, Congress general secretary Ghulam Nabi Azad and Reddy called up party chief Sonia Gandhi "to take her clearance", J Geeta Reddy, state Mahila Congress president, said.

The CM will be sworn in at 1300 IST, May 14, Azad said.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox: Election Bureau