Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Counting of votes for AP assembly begins

Counting of votes for AP assembly begins

Source: PTI
May 11, 2004 08:17 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The counting of votes for the 294-member Andhra Pradesh assembly began on Tuesday morning amidst tight

The fate of 1,896 candidates, including Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu (Kuppam), senior Telugu Desam Party leader and Home Minister T Devender Goud (Medchal), Telangana Rashtra Samithi chief Chandrasekhar Rao
(Siddipet) and Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee president D Srinivas (Nizamabad) would be decided in a few hours from now.

Counting of votes began at 0800 IST and the results are expected to be out by evening.

Early counting has been ordered in Andhra Pradesh as the new government must be in place by May 13, when the six-month deadline of the caretaker TDP government ends.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.