Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Sports » Dravid in running for ICC awards

Dravid in running for ICC awards

September 14, 2005 17:28 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

India's Rahul Dravid was rewarded for his solid international performances in the last year as he was nominated for the 'ICC player of the Year' and 'One-Day International player of the Year' by the International Cricket council on Tuesday.

Dravid bagged the 'ICC Player of the Year' in the innaugural edition of the ICC Cricket Awards last year.

Dravid, who also won the 2004 Test Player of the Year award, is vying with six other cricketers for the title to be announced and presented at Sydney on October 11.

The trophies to go with the various awards was unveiled at the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai by swashbuckling one-day wicketkeeper batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

England, ranked second in the ICC Test rankings, does not have a single candidate for the 'Test player of the Year' award.

All-rounder Andrew Flintoff however will contest for the ICC Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year.

Other Indians who are in contention for the annual awards in two other categories are Anil Kumble, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh (Test Player of the Year award), Gautam Gambhir and Dinesh Kaarthick (Emerging Player of the Year).

Reflecting India's deep slide in the one-day format, no Indian - barring Dravid - has found a place in the 18-member One-Day International Player of the Year nominee list.

An ICC Awards Selection Panel chaired by India's Sunil Gavaskar and comprising of Sir Richard Hadlee (New Zealand), Courtney Walsh (West Indies), Rodney Marsh (Australia) and David Gower (England) finalised the list.

Apart from the individual honours, team awards will also be given to the ICC Team of the Year and the Spirit of Cricket Award, to be voted by the captains and match referees.

Australia and New Zealand won the respective team honours last year.

The performances from August 1, 2004 to July 31, 2005 will be under consideration for the awards, ICC representative Jamie Stewart announced at a media conference in Mumbai.

The list of awards nominees are as follows:

Player of the Year: Rahul Dravid (Ind), Andrew Flintoff (Eng), Inzamam ul Haq (Pak), Jacques Kallis (SA), Glenn McGrath,Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist (Aus).

Test Player of the Year: Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brian Lara(West Indies); Adam Gilchrist, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Ricky Ponting, Shane Warne (Aus); Inzamam-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Danish Kaneria (Pak); Anil Kumble, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh (Ind); Kumara Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) and Jacques Kallis (SA)

One Day International Player of the Year: Rahul Dravid (India), Andrew Flintoff, Kevin Pietersen , Marcus Trescothick (Eng), Herschelle Gibbs , Justine Kemp, Graeme Smith (SA), Adam Gilchrist, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, Ricky Ponting, Andrew Symonds (Aus), Inzamam-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Yousuf Youhana (Pak), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Kumara Sangakkara and Chaminda Vaas (Lanka)

Emerging Player of the Year: Ian Bell (Eng), Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Kaarthick (Ind), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), M Rana (Bangladesh) and A B De Villiers (SA).

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

India Tour of South Africa 2021-22