Rediff Logo
ICC Champions Trophy
Home > Cricket > Statistics Interviews | Venues | Standings | Schedule | Match Reports | Gallery | History      Feedback

September 13, 2002
1525 IST

Pool A:
Aus | Ban | NZ

Pool B:
Ind | Eng | Zim

Pool C:
Ken | SA | WI

Pool D:
Ned | Pak | SL

 Search the Internet

E-Mail this report to a friend
Print this page Best Printed on  HP Laserjets

Statistical highlights

Mohandas Menon

Sri Lanka v Pakistan, 1st ODI

  • Scorecard | Match report | Images
  • Upul Chandana was appearing in his 100th match of his career since his debut in April 1994. He becomes the 14th Sri Lankan and the 124th player to do so.

  • Marvan Atapattu during his brief knock of 8 runs became the third batsman (all Sri Lankans) to aggregate 1000 runs at the Premadasa Stadium. The others being Saanth Jayasuriya (1576 runs in 41 matches) and Aravinda deSilva (1126 in 30). Atapattu now has 1003 runs in 25 matches at this ground.

  • Jayasuriya (102 not out, when on 72) became the second Sri Lankan after Aravinda deSilva (8733 runs) and the eighth batsman in LOIs to reach 8000 runs. He was playing in his 271st match and 263rd innings of his career.

  • Jayasuriya later registered his 13th hundred of his career. It was his third against Pakistan in 65 matches.

  • Jayasuriya's century was his seventh as a captain in 89 matches. He now equals the record tally held by Indian captain Sourav Ganguly, the maximum three figure innings by a batsman as captain. Ganguly also has seven centuries as captain 72 matches.

  • It was Jayasuriya's first hundred as captain against Pakistan in 23 matches. His previous highest score was the 97 he made at Tangier, Morocco last month on 17-8-2002.

  • Jayasuriya's 102 not out was the highest made against Pakistan in this tournament. New Zealand's Roger Twose had made 87 on 11-10-2000.

  • Aravinda deSilva during his unbeaten innings of 66 became the third highest run-getter in LOI history. He went past the aggregate of 8712 runs by Pakistani Inzamam ul Haq. DeSilva now has 8733 runs in 284 matches.

  • The unbeaten partnership of 156 runs between Jayasuriya and deSilva just failed to better by five runs the best for the third wicket in this competition, which still remains as the 160 between Sri Lankans Avishka Gunawardene and Mahela Jayawardene against West Indies in the 2000 edition at Nairobi on 4-10-2000.

  • The above partnership was however the highest against Pakistan for any wicket in the ICC championships. The previous best was the 135 runs put on by New Zealanders Nathan Astle and Roger Twose also for the third wicket at Nairobi on 11-10-2000.

  • The Jayasuriya-DeSilva partnership also failed to better the best for the third wicket at the Premadasa Stadium. The best still remains as the 166 runs put on by Gunawardene and Jayawardene against Zimbabwe on 12-12-2001.

  • The man of the match award was Jayasuriya's 33rd of his career in 271 matches. Only Sachin Tendulkar (45) has received more awards in LOIs.

  • Channels:

    Astrology | Auctions | Auto | Contests | Destinations | E-cards | Food | Health | Home & Decor | Jobs/Intl.Jobs | Lifestyle | Matrimonial
    Money | Movies | Net Guide | Product Watch | Romance | Tech.Edu | Technology | Teenstation | Women
    News | Cricket | Sports | NewsLinks
    Shopping | Books | Music
    Personal Homepages | Free Email | Free Messenger | Chat
      © 2002 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.