Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Sports » French GP: Team by team analysis

French GP: Team by team analysis

xTo get such articles in your inbox
July 04, 2005 11:59 IST
Team-by-team analysis of Sunday's French Formula One Grand Prix (listed in championship order)

- - - -


(Fernando Alonso 1, Giancarlo Fisichella 6)

Alonso was never in trouble as he secured his fifth win of the season with a crushing performance on Renault's home soil to stretch his lead in the drivers' championship to 24 points. Fisichella suffered pit-stop and mechanical problems but managed to finish in the points.

- - - -


(Kimi Raikkonen 2, Juan Pablo Montoya retired)

Raikkonen produced a brilliant race with a two-stop strategy. The Finn started 13th from the grid as a result of a penalty for an unexpected engine change after a failure in Friday's practice session. Montoya retired on lap 48 with a hydraulic problem.

- - - -


(Michael Schumacher 3, Rubens Barrichello 9)

Seven-times champion Schumacher had a frustrating race after losing precious time early on and, being held up by Jarno Trulli's Toyota, never managed to overtake Raikkonen. Barrichello's brake problems kept him out of the points.

- - - -


(Jarno Trulli 5, Ralf Schumacher 7)

Trulli, who shared the front row with Alonso, did not make the best of his excellent qualifying session because of stability problems on his car and had to settle for fifth. Schumacher managed to score two points after starting 12th from the grid.

- - - -


(Mark Webber 12, Nick Heidfeld 14)

A disappointing weekend for the BMW-powered team who never looked likely to compete with the top teams. Webber had heat problems in the cockpit area and Heidfeld, who finished second at the European Grand Prix, had troubles with the differential.

- - - -


(David Coulthard 10, Christian Klien retired)

Coulthard was stuck in the traffic during the whole race and was unable to break clear. Klien's hopes ended on lap two because of a fuel pressure problem.

- - - -


(Jacques Villeneuve 8, Felipe Massa retired)

Villeneuve, the 1997 champion, took advantage of a two-stop strategy and lifted his car from 11th on the grid to eighth on the chequered flag and scored a point. Massa had to pull out with a loss of hydraulic pressure.

- - - -


(Tiago Monteiro 13, Narain Karthikeyan 15)

There was no miracle for Jordan two weeks after Monteiro finished third in the six-driver race in Indianapolis. The Portuguese finished his 10th race in 10 starts. Karthikeyan had gearbox problems.

- - - -


(Patrick Friesacher retired, Christijan Albers retired)

Friesacher pulled out with a deflated tyre on lap 34. Albers gave up on lap 38 with the same problem.

- - - -


(Jenson Button 4, Takuma Sato 11)

Button had a perfect race to score his team's first points of the season. Sato, who qualified fourth, ran wide on lap 27 when trying to overtake Trulli and had to settle for 11th.

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.