Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Business » Padma Vibhushan for Tata, Mittal, Oberoi, Murthy

Padma Vibhushan for Tata, Mittal, Oberoi, Murthy

January 26, 2008 02:00 IST

India's biggest takeover tycoon Ratan Tata and the richest man Lakshmi Mittal have been named for this year's second top civilian award 'Padma Vibhushan' for their contribution in the areas of trade and industry.

New CEO of crisis-riddled Citigroup, India-born Vikram Pandit is in for a Padma Bhushan award, a list for which was approved by the President.

The list of awardees for the year 2008 includes IT doyen N R Narayana Murthy and leading hotelier P R S Oberoi for felicitation along with Tata and Mittal with Padma Vibhushan.

ICICI Bank CEO K V Kamath, HCL Technologies Chief Shiv Nadar and industrialists Baba Kalyani and Suresh Kumar Neotia are among those named for Padma Bhushan award, the third top civilian honour.

Economist and Secretary General of apex industry chamber Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry Amit Mitra and Colette Mathur, who has been associated with the World Economic Forum, were among those who have been listed for Padma Shree awards.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.