rediff NewsApp
Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp
Rediff.com  » Election » BJP does not open mark in Kerala

BJP does not open mark in Kerala

Text size:  A   A   A
May 11, 2006 12:11 IST
Senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader and former Union minister O Rajagopal has lost, pushed to the third position by the Left Democratic Front's K K Divakaran in a keenly watched three-cornered fight for the Palakkad seat.

Divakaran, a prominent trade union leader, wrested the seat for the CPI-M, defeating A V Gopinath of the Congress by 1,344 votes.

Palakkad was one of the few seats in Kerala where the BJP had placed its hopes of making a breakthrough in the state.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
It's free!

To get such articles in your inbox