Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Sports » West Indies register easy win

West Indies register easy win

xTo get such articles in your inbox
May 15, 2006 11:34 IST

Ramnaresh Sarwan stroked 91 and all-rounder Dwayne Smith took four wickets to steer West Indies to a comfortable victory over Zimbabwe in the seventh and final one-day cricket international in Port of Spain on Sunday.

After Sarwan's effort guided the hosts to 266 for eight in their 50 overs, Zimbabwe offered little challenge and West Indies restricted them to 162 all out to win by 104 runs.

It was West Indies' fifth victory in a series in which two matches were abandoned because of rain, leaving Zimbabwe without a win.

Sarwan hit six polished boundaries off 114 balls and featured in significant partnerships with Shivnarine Chanderpaul and captain Brian Lara after West Indies had won the toss for the fifth time in the series.

Zimbabwe's response lacked excitement in spite of a third-wicket stand of 59 between opener Vusi Sibanda and Brendan Taylor.


West Indies Innings 
C. Gayle c Duffin b Mahwire 11
S. Chanderpaul  c Utseya b Higgins 45
R. Sarwan c Chigumbura b Mahwire 91
B. Lara  c Higgins b Utseya 40
D. Bravo b Higgins 17
M. Samuels  c Chigumbura b Mupariwa 6
D. Smith c Chigumbura b Mupariwa 4
C. Baugh c Chigumbura b Mupariwa  19
I. Bradshaw not out  11
J. Taylor not out 4

Extras (lb-4 nb-1 w-13) 18

Total (for 8 wickets, 50 overs) 266

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-99, 3-166, 4-197, 5-204, 6-214, 7-237, 8-250.

Did not bat: F. Edwards

Bowling: T. Mupariwa 10-1-44-3 (w-1), B. Mahwire 10-0-49-2 (nb-1 w-5), K. Meth 8-0-46-0 (w-3), P. Utseya 10-0-54-1 (w-4), P. Rinke 2-0-17-0, R. Higgins 10-0-52-2.

Zimbabwe Innings
V. Sibanda c&b Bradshaw 42
T. Duffin c Baugh b Edwards 2
P. Rinke b Taylor 12
B. Taylor run out 43
E. Chigumbura lbw b D.R. Smith 3
G. Strydom c D.R. Smith b Gayle 2
K. Meth c sub b Samuels 16
R. Higgins c Baugh b D.R. Smith 2
T. Mupariwa b D.R. Smith 0
P. Utseya c sub b D.R. Smith 6
B. Mahwire not out 10

Extras (b-3 lb-4 nb-3 w-14) 24

Total (all out, 49 overs) 162

Fall of wickets: 1-10, 2-34, 3-93, 4-102, 5-107, 6-141, 7-142, 8-151, 9-151, 10-162.

Bowling: F. Edwards 4-1-17-1 (nb-2 w-3), J. Taylor 6-0-26-1 (w-2), I. Bradshaw 9-0-27-1 (nb-1 w-1), D. Bravo 6-1-22-0 (w-1), D. Smith 8-0-29-4 (w-2), C. Gayle 10-2-17-1, M. Samuels 6-0-17-1 (w-1).

Result: West Indies won by 104 runs


© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.