Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Sports » Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by four wickets

Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by four wickets

xTo get such articles in your inbox
February 22, 2006 18:06 IST

Bangladesh held their nerve to record a four-wicket win over Sri Lanka on Wednesday, easing to the victory target of 213 for six with two overs to spare in registering a first one-day triumph over the visitors.

Mohammad Ashraful led the home side with a stylish 51 as Bangladesh evened up the three-match series at 1-1 in a contest reduced to 49 overs per side after fog had delayed the start.

Javed Omar (40), Habibul Bashar (33) and Aftab Ahmed (32 not out) contributed valuable runs for the home side that can now boast one-day victories over Sri Lanka, Australia, Pakistan and India.

A packed stadium of around 18,000 spectators chanted "Bangladesh, Bangladesh" as the delighted players completed a lap of honour.

Earlier, Bangladesh vindicated their decision to ask the tourists to bat after they won the toss by dismissing Sri Lanka for 212, despite a sparkling 96 from Sanath Jayasuriya.

Jayasuriya hit eight fours and a six in his 110-ball knock, but was given little support by his team mates as Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals.

Kumar Sangakkara (23) and Farveez Maharoof (21) were the only other batsmen to score more than 20 runs against an inspired attack, whose six bowlers took at least a wicket apiece.

Syed Rasel was the pick of the bowlers as the paceman finishing with figures of 2-28 in his 10 overs after claiming the first wicket to fall in the fourth over.

Mohammad Rafique (2-40) and Alok Kapali (2-29) also chipped in with two wickets each as the home side took control of the contest, two days after they lost the series opener by five wickets at the same ground.

The third match is in Chittagong on Saturday before the sides play two Test matches.


Sri Lanka innings (49 overs maximum)
J Mubarak c Khaled Mashud b Syed Rasel 2
ST Jayasuriya lbw b Mohammad Rafique 96
KC Sangakkara c Khaled Mashud b Syed Rasel 23
DPMD Jayawardene c Habibul Bashar b Mohammad Rafique 5
CK Kapugedera c Khaled Mashud b Alok Kapali 13
TM Dilshan c & b Alok Kapali 3
KHRK Fernando lbw b Aftab Ahmed 3
MF Maharoof c Habibul Bashar b Mashrafe Mortaza 21
CM Bandara run out (Syed Rasel) 18
CRD Fernando c Mohammad Ashraful b Nazmul Hossain 13
PDRL Perera not out 4
Extras (b 1, w 8, nb 2) 11
Total (all out, 49 overs) 212

FoW: 1-5 (Mubarak, 3.1 ov), 2-72 (Sangakkara, 19.4 ov), 3-87 (Jayawardene, 22.6 ov), 4-116 (Kapugedera, 30.6 ov), 5-122 (Dilshan, 32.4 ov), 6-132 (KHRK Fernando, 35.6 ov), 7-168 (Jayasuriya, 40.6 ov), 8-187 (Maharoof, 45.6 ov), 9-196 (Bandara, 47.2 ov), 10-212 (CRD Fernando, 48.6 ov).

Mashrafe Mortaza 10-2-31-1 (2w)
Syed Rasel 10-2-28-2 (1nb, 1w)
Nazmul Hossain 7-0-59-1 (1nb, 2w)
Mohammad Rafique 10-0-40-2 (2w)
Alok Kapali 6-0-29-2
Aftab Ahmed 6-0-24-1 (1w)

Bangladesh innings (target: 213 runs from 49 overs)
Javed Omar lbw b Bandara 40
Shahriar Nafees c Sangakkara b CRD Fernando 17
Rajin Saleh lbw b Maharoof 6
Mohammad Ashraful c Bandara b KHRK Fernando 51
Habibul Bashar c Kapugedera b Jayasuriya 33
Aftab Ahmed not out 32
Alok Kapali c KHRK Fernando b CRD Fernando 18
Khaled Mashud not out 2
Extras (lb 1, w 6, nb 7) 14
Total (6 wickets, 47 overs) 213

DNB: Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Rafique, Syed Rasel.

FoW: 1-38 (Shahriar Nafees, 7.3 ov), 2-45 (Rajin Saleh, 11.3 ov), 3-91 (Javed Omar, 20.5 ov), 4-154 (Habibul Bashar, 37.5 ov), 5-155 (Mohammad Ashraful, 38.2 ov), 6-206 (Alok Kapali, 45.1 ov).

Perera 7-1-30-0 (2w)
Maharoof 9-0-38-1 (1nb, 2w)
CRD Fernando 8-0-48-2 (6nb, 1w)
Bandara 8-0-42-1
Jayasuriya 9-0-36-1
KHRK Fernando 6-0-18-1

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.