Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Sports » Pakistan thwart Prime Minister's XI

Pakistan thwart Prime Minister's XI

xTo get such articles in your inbox
January 25, 2005 15:39 IST

Younis Khan and Yousuf Youhana completed half-centuries to steer Pakistan to a five-wicket win over the Australian Prime Minister's XI in a limited-overs tour match in Canberra on Tuesday.

Younis finished 62 not out and Youhana made 50 as Pakistan cruised to their winning target of 192 with more than seven overs to spare.

Shoaib Malik captured three wickets for Pakistan as the Prime Minister's XI collapsed to 191 all out in the 47th over despite making a great start.

Chris Rogers top scored with 46 while Luke Ronchi belted an extraordinary 40 off only 13 balls before the wickets started to tumble.

Pakistan are second behind Australia in a triangular international series. Their next match is against West Indies in Adelaide on Friday.


Prime Minister's XI
L.Ronchi c Shoaib Malik b Azhar Mahmood 40
T.Birt c Yasir Hameef b Mohammad Khalil 20
J.Hopes c Kamran Akmal b Azhar Mahmood 5
D.Thornley c Salman Butt b Shoaib Malik 12
C.Rogers c Salman Butt b Shoaib Malik 46
S.Heaney c Mohammad Hafeez b Shoaib Malik 35
B.Weare not out 13
M.Bevan b Mohammad Hafeez 7
M.Lewis st Kamran Akmal b Younis Khan 1
D.Cullen hit wkt b Salman Butt 1
B.Edmondson run out 0

Extras (lb-3 w-8) 11

Total (all out, 46.4 overs) 191

Fall of wickets: 1-57 2-64 3-75 4-103 5-164 6-169 7-184 8-188 9-191

Bowling: Mohammad Khalil 6-0-51-1 (w-1), Azhar Mahmood 7-3-23-2 (w-2), Salman Butt 6.5-0-24-1, Rao Iftikhar 6-0-23-0 (w-1), Shoaib Malik 10-0-29-3 (w-2), Mohammad Hafeez 10-1-34-1 (w-2), Younis Khan 1-0-4-1

Salman Butt c Ronchi b Edmondson 23
Taufiq Umar b Edmondson 5
Yousuf Youhana run out 50
Yasir Hameed c Ronchi b Lewis 5
Younis Khan not out 62
Mohammad Hafeez c Ronchi b Edmondson 36
Shoaib Malik not out 1

Extras (lb-3 w-5 nb-2) 10

Total (for five wickets, 42.5 overs) 192

Fall of wickets: 1-26 2-47 3-70 4-106 5-182

Did not bat: Mohammad Khalil, Rao Iftikhar, Azhar Mahmood, Kamran Akmal

Bowling: Lewis 8-0-28-1 (nb-1 w-1), Edmondson 9-1-38-3, Hopes 10-1-47-0 (nb-1 w-3), Cullen 9.5-1-49-0 (w-1), Thornely 4-0-20-0, Weare 2-0-7-0

Result: Pakistan won by five wickets

Man of the Match: Younis Khan (Pakistan)

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.