Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Sports » Pakistan beat Australia A

Pakistan beat Australia A

January 12, 2005 15:04 IST

Abdul Razzaq hammered an unbeaten 89 from 61 balls and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan produced a last-gasp three-wicket burst as Pakistan edged home by 13 runs in a limited-overs match against Australia A at MelbourneĀ on Wednesday.

The unlikely win, sealed with eight balls to spare, came after the touring side were whitewashed 3-0 by Australia in their Test series. They face the world champions and West Indies in a triangular one-day series starting later this week.

Pakistan fought back twice to steal the win. They had slumped to 117 for five in the 30th over when Razzaq arrived to hoist his side to 279 for eight at Adelaide Oval.

He then took two for 45 in Australia A's 266 all out but it was Naved-ul-Hasan who proved the key as he took three for 42.

Reverse-swinging the old ball, he ripped through the tail as Australia A lost their last six wickets for 12 runs.

Australia A captain Brad Haddin was the ninth wicket to fall, run out for 129 from 123 balls with 11 fours and one six.

Razzaq hit six sixes, three off them from six deliveries from spinner Nathan Hauritz, and four fours. Mohammed Hafeez made 61, putting on 68 for the sixth wicket with Razzaq.

The Australians still looked in control with all rounder Cameron White coming to the crease at 254 for five in the 45th over.

He was unluckily run out for a duck at the bowler's end, however, a Haddin drive rebounding off bowler Shahid Afridi's outstretched hand onto the stumps.

Naved-ul-Hasan then bowled tailenders Damien Wright and Hauritz with inswinging yorkers and had Shaun Tait caught behind for a first-ball duck to end the innings, one ball after Haddin's run out in the 49th over.

Australia host West Indies in Melbourne on Friday and the home side will then play Pakistan in Hobart two days later.


Salman Butt b Wright 15
Yasir Hameed c M.Hussey b Wright 30
Kamran Akmal b Lewis 11
Mohammad Hafeez c D.Hussey b Hauritz 61
Inzamam-ul-Haq c Hodge b Tait 10
Yousuf Youhana c Haddin b Tait 5
Abdul Razzaq not out 89
Shahid Afridi c Hauritz b Hopes 22
Azhar Mahmood run out 12
Rana Naved-ul-Hasan not out 0

Extras (b-4, lb-8, w-11, nb-1) 24

Total (for eight wickets, 50 overs) 279

Fall of wickets: 1-33 2-48 3-75 4-111 5-117 6-185 7-253 8-271

Did not bat: Rao Iftikhar

Bowling: Lewis 10-2-40-1 (w-1), Tait 10-0-49-2 (w-9), Wright 10-0-54-2 (nb-11), Hopes 10-1-46-1 (w-1), Hauritz 8-0-55-1, Thornely 2-0-23-0

Australia A
B.Haddin run out 129
J.Hopes c Kamran Akmal b Rao Iftikhar 13
B.Hodge b Azhar Mahmood 30
D.Hussey c sub b Rao Iftikhar 45
M.Hussey b Abdul Razzaq 5
D.Thornely lbw b Abdul Razzaq 16
C.White run out 0
D.Wright b Rana Naved-ul-Hasan 4
N.Hauritz b Rana Naved-ul-Hasan 2
M.Lewis not out 1
S.Tait c Kamran Akmal b Rana Naved-ul-Hasan 0

Extras (lb-7, w-5, nb-9) 21

Total (all out, 48.4 overs) 266

Fall of wickets: 1-31 2-96 3-205 4-210 5-254 6-254 7-260 8-264 9-266

Bowling: Rana Naved-ul-Hasan 9.4-0-42-3 (nb-2, w-2), Rao Iftikhar 10-0-52-2 (w-1), Azhar Mahmood 6-0-34-1 (nb-1, w-1), Shahid Afridi 9-0-55-0 (nb-1), Abdul Razzaq 10-0-45-2 (nb-5, w-1), Mohammad Hafeez 4-0-31-0.

Result: Pakistan won by 13 runs

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.